Best Christian Folk & Worship of 2023 Music Review

timbriggshere
9 min readDec 11, 2023
Not every single/album featured on the playlist is displayed above

I’m one of these nerds that enjoys year-end lists. You must be too. Welcome!

This is the fourth year in a row that I’ve put together the Jesus-y, Folky, Singer-songwriter-y, Worship-y, High Quality Music Awards (now simply titled: Best Christian Folk & Worship)! It truly is one of the highlights of my year to write this post.

All of the music you read about below, and more, is contained in my 2023 Spotify playlist. If you’re so inclined, you can find previous years’ playlists and read previous years’ reviews here: 2022 awards, 2021 awards, 2020 awards.

Before we proceed to the awards, a few definitions.

It’s always tricky to use the word Christian to describe something other than a human being. When I say Christian music, I’m referring to faith-inspired music. I’m not trying to make any grand pronouncements or be some sort of gate-keeper for the Christian music industry. Rightly or wrongly, I’m assuming these songs are born out of some sort of Christian worldview (or, perhaps, reflect a Christian worldview).

Folk is another word I’m using quite generously. Most of this music has an acoustic guitar and could be described as folk/Americana music. Some of these tunes might be more gospel, rock, congregational, or pop in nature. Yet, all of the music was something I loosely considered folk or folk-adjacent. Feel free to disagree.

With that out of the way, let’s proceed to the awards!

Most Catchy Song of 2023: ‘Fear Not for I Am With You (Jeremiah 45)’ by Rachel Wilhelm

Rachel wrote a whole album based on the book of Jeremiah. Quite a task! The album is appropriately, and beautifully, somber. This particular song is more upbeat and the chorus remains with you long after you’ve stopped listening.

Fear not, for I am with you, fear not, for I am with you, // Fear not, for I am with you, I’m not finished with you yet. // Fear not, for I am with you, fear not, for I am with you, // Fear not, for I am with you, I’m not finished with you yet.

Honorable Mention: “Teach Me, O Lord” by The Soil and the Seed Project

Best Congregational Worship Song of 2023 (Tie): ‘Faithful’ by 1517 Music and ‘You Hold It All’ by The Porter’s Gate

I was so impressed with the congregational music that came out this year so to pick the best of the litter was quite difficult. So, for the first time ever in these hallowed awards, there is a tie!

Faithful is a song about God’s faithfulness even in our faithlessness. Given the subject matter of the verses, this would work especially well at Easter but could be sung at other times of the year.

When You showed us the wonders we wanted // We laid palms down and shouted Your praise // But when You weren’t the king // That we thought you should be // We mocked You and spat in Your face // You are faithful, faithful // Though Your people turn away // You are faithful, faithful // You are faithful every day

You Hold It All is a beautiful song about work and rest. Perfect for any Sunday gathering. I appreciate how it’s simultaneously reflective but aspirational.

God, we bring you the work of our hands now // Lay it down, lay it at Your feet // What we’ve done, where we’ve been, what we’ve broken // Lay it down, lay it at Your feet // You hold it all // Jesus You hold it all

Honorable Mention: “Love of Christ” by Carmel Worship; “He is Able” by Phillip James Revel; “Oh Christ the Victor” by Tyson Matthews; “We Have an Anchor” by Folk Hymnal

Most Inventive Song of 2023: ‘In the Little Moments’ by The Soil and the Seed Project

This is a rather simple song musically but the subject matter is what makes it inventive. It’s a song about the ordinary moments of life and how God is in them all. It’s truly a beautiful song. Please listen!

In hair plastered to her face as she goes dashing wildly // Through springy fields, wings revealed, butterflies and bare feet // Muddy footprints in the kitchen may remind me // God is // God has always been // and God will always be in the ordinary

Honorable Mention: “Benediction for Sleep” by Sarah Sparks

Best Reimagined/Retuned Hymn of 2023: ‘Doxology’ by Tyson Matthews

The Doxology holds a special place in my heart. I love it for its beauty and versatility as it can be sung at any sort of gathering: funeral, wedding, worship service, etc. Moreover, we sing it to our boys every night before bed. The song occupies a significant place in the life of the Briggs family. Tyson re-tuned it a bit and added some lyrics. The result is a rewarding, longer meditation on this brilliant song.

Praise God in all who rest is found // Praise Him for He is with us now // Come now and praise our lowly king // Who meets here with us as we sing

Honorable Mention: “Come, Ye Sinners” by The Soil and the Seed Project; “O God, Our Help in Ages Past” by Adrian Mathenia

Most Powerful Song of 2023: ‘Walkin’ Slow (Voice Memo)’ by David Belt

The most powerful song I heard in 2023 is a song about Sabbath rest. This might be my favorite song of the year as well. This song is one of those perfect collisions of the content matching the production perfectly. Sparse but full. Longing but joyous. Simple but deep. I listen to this song and I want to live it. If Sabbath songs are you jam, I would recommend also checking out Slow Me Down by The Porter’s Gate.

Saturday morning slow // Laughter from the old oak tree // Children climbing up and down // Early October breeze // I hear you call my name // You’re coming, coming // From the hurry and the chase // I’m stopping, stopping // I want to match your pace // I’m walking, walking slow // I’m walking, walking slow

Honorable Mention: N/A

Most Honest Song of 2023: ‘Grateful’ by Graham Jones

“Comparison is the thief of joy (Teddy Roosevelt).” Graham writes about this so well in his song Grateful. He explains more about the song here: “For the longest time, I had an iPhone note that simply said, ‘God, I want to be grateful.’ Over time, I started adding ways I wanted to be grateful. I often found myself venting about the things I wanted but didn’t have — a house and a yard, a year without a hospital visit, an easier time parenting, more time on the calendar, and so on…It’s easier to feel grateful when times are good. But thanking God in the middle of a trial? That can open our hearts to a new level of depth in our relationship with him.”

God, I wanna be grateful // Don’t want to stare at these four walls so much I hate ’em // While everyone’s kids have yards to play in // And I’m still saving

Honorable Mention: N/A

Best Cover Song of 2023: ‘Holy, Holy, Holy’ by Mission House

I’m cheating on this category. This really should go in the ‘Best Reimagined/Retuned Hymn’ category. I don’t care. I can cheat because it’s my list. I unapologetically love everything Mission House releases. It’s amazing how Jess and Taylor, along with two acoustic guitars, bring out the beauty of this song.

Holy, holy, holy! // Lord God Almighty // Early in the morning // Our song shall rise to Thee // Holy, holy, holy! // Merciful and mighty // God in three persons // Blessed Trinity!

Honorable Mention: N/A

Best Seasonal Album of 2023: Vol. 7 Ordinary Time by The Soil and the Seed Project

The Soil and the Seed Project took home this award last year as well. This makes sense, of course, because their mission is to “nurture faith through music, art, and Little Liturgies for daily and weekly use in the home, following the liturgical calendar.” They make seasonal music around the church calendar. If you haven’t listened to their stuff, I highly encourage it. It’s quite eclectic — not everything will be your jam but chances are, you’ll find a whole bunch of songs you love.

Honorable Mention: N/A

Kids Favorite Song of 2023: ‘Big Feelings’ by Andrew Ripp

I don’t know anything about Andrew but somehow we stumbled across this song early in 2023 and it’s been on repeat ever since. I’m a bottler of emotions. I probably learned that in childhood so I could have used a song like this then. I could use a song like this now. The songwriting is brilliant and the song is just so fun and playful. Kids will love it. And so will you.

Little bodies with big feelings // Like monsters trapped under soft ceilings // Try and try to push it all down // But I just wanna let it all out // Let it all out // These strong emotions that you’re feeling // Are deep blue oceans revealing // The beauty when you say it out loud // So open up and let it all out // Let it all out // Let your laughter crack like thunder // Let your tears stream down like rain // Let your nature be as wild to free // As joy is to the pain

Favorite New Artist of 2023: Carmel Worship

I’m biased. I know some of these folks. But, I’m not putting them on my list because I know them. I’m putting them on my list because they’re really good! If you like The Corner Room, you’re going to love Carmel Worship. Many of their songs follow Scripture closely. Combine that with major pop-folk vibes and you end up with some enjoyable worship music.

Honorable Mention: The Rivers

Best Album of 2023: Manna Pt.1 by Chris Renzema

I appreciate Chris’ honest grappling with faith. It’s not a skeptical wrestling, it’s a hopeful wrestling. There’s room for both, of course, but I appreciate how he leans into God in the midst of the struggle. We need more honest writing like this. I’m not sure if Chris is more folk or pop but it doesn’t matter. It’s good.

’Cause it’s in the blood // Coursing through my veins // Same old story, same family name // Prone to wander // This heart in me // ’Cause the human condition’s hereditary // So would you come take an axe to my family tree // O Heavenly Father would You adopt me

Honorable Mention: The Giver Mvmt I: Dayspring by You Me & the Bread

Best Song of 2023: ‘Death Defying Joy’ by Andy Squyres

Andy really knows how to pack a punch with his lyrics. I think he’s one of the best songwriters in the biz. This song puts his songwriting on display mixing his honest lyrics with some great pop sounds. This song is catchy and deep and wonderful. Listen to it on repeat.

Don’t change your plans on my account // I finally got You figured out // Faith is not provoked without // A world of irony // If You hear Your name in vain // It’s me looking for You again // Crushed beneath the Spirit wind // From glory to glory // To glory to glory

Honorable Mention: Walkin’ Slow (Voice Memo) by David Belt; Grateful by Graham Jones

Thanks for taking the time to read this. I had a ton of fun putting it together. Along the way, I’m sure I missed a lot. If so, let me know. Seriously. I want to listen to some good music I missed. I’ll listen to anything you email. You can reach me at tbriggs@steadfast.church.

I too am a songwriter/producer and if you want to follow along with some of my music, check out Folk Hymnal. “Folk Hymnal is a guild of church worship leaders creating theologically rich songs in an accessible and attractive way.” We released an EP in 2023 called We Have an Anchor.

Again, you can listen to all the above music and other favorites of mine from 2023 on this Spotify playlist.

--

--

timbriggshere

I’m a church Planter with @TheEFCA & @HarborNetwork_. I write about the church, music, technology, culture, creative stuff & sports. Creator of @folkhymnal .